Committee Meeting
























































Minutes from Meeting 27th February 2019

The Trainee's Prize & Jackson Rees Medal

The meeting was opened by LSA President, Dr Ed Djabatey, who introduced the four speakers.

1) Sharon Acheson: ‘Nasal high-flow oxygen and total intravenous anaesthesia for tubeless airway assessment and surgery in spontaneously breathing children.’

2) Christian Longley; ‘Review of Preoperative Iron Infusion Service at a District General Hospital’. 

3) Tom Donaldson: ‘Pre-operative consent for general anaesthesia – a significant legal vulnerability’

4) Owen Chambers: ‘Improving care in ventilated inter-hospital transfers – a trainee led quality improvement project’

During the vote counting, two trainees who had won John Utting Awards, presented their papers given at international meetings

Sara Kelly presented two abstracts as poster presentations at the 20th International Conference on Anaesthesia & Acute Pain Management in Dubai in November 2018: one on use of day case ketamine infusions for chronic pancreatitis and one on tea-trolley style teaching for front of neck access

Sharon Acheson presented and won the short paper competition at the 29th Anaesthesia, Critical Care & Pain Update in Val D’Isere in January 2018. Her abstract was on Improving Paediatric Day Case Tonsillectomies over 5 years at Alder Hey Hospital

The first prize and Jackson Rees medal was won By Dr Owen Chambers with second prize going to Dr Sharon Acheson.


Gemma Roberts
Hon Secretary
28th February 2019

Last updated: 7 March, 2013 LSA